Home << City Services << Boards & Committees

Municipal Audit and Financial Oversight Committee

Minutes & Agendas
Establishing Ordinance: Ordinance No. 1393 CMC 2.90
Type of Appointment: By City Council
Number of Members: Consists of up to three citizen committee members, the Mayor and up to two City Councilors. Citizen members should possess or obtain a basic understanding of governmental financial reporting and auditing.
Term Length: 2 years (term ends December 31)
Committee shall meet once one per quarter, or more if necessary.

Duties and powers:
The duties of the Committee shall include:
A. Solicit input from the Council regarding audit and financial oversight related issues including but not limited to financial policies and internal control.
B. Review the credentials of potential auditors and make recommendation to the Council as to the selection of the auditor.
C. Assure the scope of the audit meets Council requirements.
D. Assure financial statements and audits meet Council needs and are reported to the Council in a timely manner as required by state law.
E. Review annually the performance of the auditors, provide that information to the Council, and make recommendation to the Council if a change in auditor is recommended.
F. Review annually the adequacy of the City’s internal controls
G. Review annually the adequacy of the City’s financial policies.
H. Meet and review other audit and financial oversight related projects as suggested by the City Council. 
I. The audit committee should establish procedures for the receipt, retention, and treatment of complaints regarding accounting, internal accounting controls, or auditing matters. Such procedures should specifically provide for the confidential, anonymous submission by employees of the government of concerns regarding questionable accounting or auditing matters.

For additional minutes and other documents please visit the City of Canby Electronic Records Management System Page

Agenda for:
Minutes for:
Audio for:
January 26, 2016 January 26, 2016 Audio
Committee Members
Term Ends
Mayor Hodson
Elaina Canutt
Councilor Tim Dale
Councilor Tyler Smith
Staff Liaison: Julie Blums
Council Liaison: Mayor Hodson

Last update: August 6, 2018